PDA

View Full Version : Steven Gray to appear at Scott Orness' Bainbridge basketball camp?



ZagNative
06-10-2008, 02:48 PM
Yes, If this June 9 story from the Bainbridge Island Review (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=2) about Steven's former coach, Scott Orness, is correct:
To help those kids progress, Orness said they still have spots available for the two camps he runs during the summer.

The first is the Spartan Basketball Camp that runs from June 23-36 from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
....
The other camp is the High Potential Camp, which runs from July 28-31 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.
....
Orness not only invites his friends, who coach in various places, he also invites ex-players to come back and help – even Gonzaga’s Steven Gray, who will appear at both camps.Way to show some loyalty to your old coach, Steven! But will the Gonzaga players like Steven also be assisting at the Zags' camps, as well as be in town for recruits' visits?

BobZag
06-10-2008, 03:08 PM
Orness isn't the coach over there anymore, is he?

I'm sure Gray can take some time off for his old coach.

ZagNative
06-10-2008, 03:16 PM
No. He's coaching an 8th grade team. I assumed it was on Bainbridge Island. I'm sure it would say in the story.

I didn't follow Bainbridge HS last season, but hope Orness wasn't canned after taking the team to the championship game the year before. Today's hero, tomorrow's goat...

75Zag
06-10-2008, 03:26 PM
Anybody know whether the NCAA allows players be paid for their time in assisting at non-GU camps? Seems like a reasonable (and legitimate) way for players to earn some spending money.

VinnyZag
06-10-2008, 04:05 PM
Orness wasn't fired, he's just a young father who wanted to see his kids occasionally: http://www.kitsapsun.com/news/2008/mar/15/orness-resigns-as-spartans-hoops-coach/

MDABE80
06-10-2008, 08:42 PM
Glad to see our guy helping out.....gratis or not. Might help to find some youngsters at an early age. It's great PR for GU and for Steven. Orness sounds like a pretty balance young father. It's a GOOD thing!!!

Coach O
06-22-2008, 09:37 PM
Coach Orness here...
The favorite part of my job is having alums come back and work, visit, tell me about their lives, etc. and Steven is one of those kids. Steven really did amazing things not just on the court, but in the school and community on Bainbridge Island in his short 2+ years here. He was in town just after school got out and swung by my house for dinner with another teammate, Rudy Sharar, off our amazing 2007 season. Steven's a great kid and he loves GU.
No worries to all of you wondering about compliance with NCAA regs. Working with the GU compliance officer, I found out all the ins and outs to make this work.
Thanks for the great words on me stepping down as the Bainbridge coach. It was tears for myself and all the returning players in the meeting I broke the news, but I couldn't justify the time I obsessed over basketball to the time away from my 3 and 5 year olds.
Good luck to the Zags this next year!

ZagNative
06-22-2008, 09:50 PM
Wow! Thanks, Coach! I bet if I rooted around my photo collection from Steven's time at Bainbridge I could find a pic of you with our young man. Thanks for stopping by, and best of luck with your kids on your team and in your family!

Edited to add: Nope. No pics of Coach O, not even when he was voted coach of the year for the Metro League, when Steven was voted MVP. Too bad. It was sure a lot of fun to follow you guys through that great year!

Edited again to add: Unless Coach O is the guy with his back of his head to the camera in this pic from the win over O'Dea described in post #4 on the Steven Gray Scrapbook thread here (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?t=4883) ...

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff232/ZagNative/Zags/Steven%20Gray/Stevengetshugaftermetroleaguechampw.jpg