PDA

View Full Version : AAU Tourney this weekend: Pump Bros in Denver



LynetteG
04-18-2008, 05:43 PM
lots of West Coast teams at this one, but also King James is playing (pool L). Their pool play game tomorrow at 1030a our time will be streamed online.

Here's a link to the game streams, some running now:
http://76.74.252.140/doublepump/broadcast.php

Link to the tourney info (and team rosters):
http://pumptournaments.doublepump.com/index.php?clevel=d_126

BobZag
04-19-2008, 08:51 AM
Gonzaga has a coach at the Pump Tourney in Denver, at Kingwood in Houston, and in Arkansas for the Real Deal on the Hill.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 08:59 AM
Js game should be streamed today, starts at 1030. The team is having a really tough time with the altitude change in Denver. :(

Nevtelen
04-19-2008, 09:12 AM
I believe it - I was born there and grew up in WY with an even higher altitude, but the first time my wife and I visited my parents she ended up in the hospital (briefly) for altitude related problems and dehydration (it was a desert, too). It can really take it out of you. Good luck to J anyway - hope he kicks butt! And may the coaches find what they are looking for!

ZagNative
04-19-2008, 09:14 AM
Gonzaga has a coach at the Pump Tourney in Denver, at Kingwood in Houston, and in Arkansas for the Real Deal on the Hill.Interesting! That's just what I wondered. Now I guess we'll just have to wait for reports of which players they are focusing on.

I wonder if Meech will be watching at the Kingwood Classic in Houston with the Zags' coaching staff.

Also wonder which one(s) Mark Few will be attending.

Here's the link for today's broadcast schedule for the Kingwood Classic (http://76.74.252.140/kingwood/broadcast.php). I wondered if Jeff Taylor might be playing for the New Mexico Force team that's playing live right now, but he's not on the roster, though Alan Tate is. (I've tried watching some of the games but the combination of my slow DSL and the lack of announcers makes it kind of unrewarding from my point of veiw.)

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 09:18 AM
I believe it - I was born there and grew up in WY with an even higher altitude, but the first time my wife and I visited my parents she ended up in the hospital (briefly) for altitude related problems and dehydration (it was a desert, too). It can really take it out of you. Good luck to J anyway - hope he kicks butt! And may the coaches find what they are looking for!

Unfortunately there are no water coolers for the kids today! Unreal! Just when they need the hydration! UGHHHHHHH Sis bought J some gatorade and some power bars to help him. J said he felt like they had played 20 games to the one they played last night. All the players on his team were really dragging.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 09:21 AM
...and the lack of announcers makes it kind of unrewarding from my point of veiw.

ZN, I know for Boo Williams last weekend the championship game had commentary and even had the score posted on the bottom right of the screen. Maybe that will happen for these tourneys this weekend, too.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 09:42 AM
Game getting ready to start. King James has a red stripe on their shorts, Las Vegas Prospects have a gold stripe. I see lots of college coaches walking across the court towards the camera before this game. They usually wear something with their school logo. Btw, J is wearing #44.

1st defensive rebound of the game goes to... JM :)

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 09:57 AM
Possible Gonzaga recruit Anthony Marshall plays for Las Vegas, the team playing against King James. Wearing #12

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:02 AM
Possible Gonzaga recruit Anthony Marshall plays for Las Vegas, the team playing against King James. Wearing #12

Thanks for that, BZ! They are both on the floor now.


DUNKKKKKKKK!!!!!

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 10:13 AM
Lynette, who is home and who is away? 35-23 guests

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:14 AM
35-23 at the half, King James. Bronco, did you see his dunk :) My sis said she is the only one there for KJs, the rest are cheering for LV. I can hear her on the video stream, it's funny. After J made his FT I heard her clap and said 'good job!', LOL!

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 10:19 AM
Jordan looks outstanding right now. He looks enormous out there. Would have been a nice addition at Gonzaga. Right now, Marshall and Morgan have been the best two out there. Anthony Marshall had a great crossover-pull up three, I was on the Marshall Henderson bandwagon before this but Anthony looks real good.

God I can't believe how big Jordan Morgan is out there. And that was an excellent dunk!

These AAU games are always a blast to watch.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:21 AM
I saw Marshall's dunk, it was sweet! And then back down court to J and J dunked it again! WOW! What a great game to watch!

I can hear my sister on the audio, she is sitting next to the audio guy. I should call her and tell her... lol.

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 10:23 AM
Who is #4 on Jordan's team. I went to the rosters you posted but there are no numbers for the King James team, at least as far as I can see.

Nevermind...it's Desmar Jackson, took a little bit of hunting

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:26 AM
Who is #4 on Jordan's team. I went to the rosters you posted but there are no numbers for the King James team, at least as far as I can see.

Sorry, no. I know he is not Christian McCollum (#1), so... ?? Sis doesn't know either, just called her really quick to ask.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:36 AM
6:38 left, tied at 52

theothegreat21
04-19-2008, 10:39 AM
WOW what a swat by Marshall. Im so impressed with both him and Jordan

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 10:41 AM
Jordan really reminds me of Sean May. He is extremely impressive.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:43 AM
WOW what a swat by Marshall. Im so impressed with both him and Jordan

They're both leaving it all on the floor! What an excellent game!!

THanks Bronco for the compliment, I'll be sure to pass it along!

Oooh, Marshall just ran into Jordan and bounced off of him onto the floor! That was pretty funny..."hey, there was this 250 pound brick wall in front of me..."....LOLOL!

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 10:52 AM
Marshall is such a smart player. Couple swats and driving layups have the Prospects back in this game. Gotta love it.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:53 AM
Marshall is such a smart player. Couple swats and driving layups have the Prospects back in this game. Gotta love it.

74-71 KJs with about 38 secs left.

theothegreat21
04-19-2008, 10:54 AM
Jordan's team has some real high-flyers. Marshall is so smooth and he can really finish with both hands around the rim. Really good handles and outstanding elevation on his shot.

BroncoZAG615
04-19-2008, 10:56 AM
Jordan's team has some real high-flyers. Marshall is so smooth and he can really finish with both hands around the rim. Really good handles and outstanding elevation on his shot.

Hope he's not another guard with free throw issues.... but he has been superb.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 10:58 AM
Jordan rebounds the game winning attempt by LV and gets fouled!!!! GOOO JORDY!!!!! To the line..... please let him make these!

75-73 10 secs left

BobZag
04-19-2008, 11:00 AM
If Marshall's D is too good, Zags will likely pass on him. lol.

As for J, let's see... Calum McLoud, um, Mammery Diallo, um, Will Foster... Nah, J isn't a skinny tall guy so the staff should pass on him, too.

lol.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 11:01 AM
LOL Bz! Good one!

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 11:03 AM
King James wins with a last second shot at the buzzer!!!!!!! 77-76! WHAT A GAME, wow!!!!!!!!

Unofficial stats for Jordan:

15 points
8 Boards
2 blocks
1 steal
1-10 from the free throw line (ewww)

theothegreat21
04-19-2008, 11:06 AM
If Marshall's D is too good, Zags will likely pass on him. lol.

As for J, let's see... Calum McLoud, um, Mammery Diallo, um, Will Foster... Nah, J isn't a skinny tall guy so the staff should pass on him, too.

lol.

Bob- I'm curious to how high Anthony Marshall is on the wish list of the staff. He was pretty incredible out there today, and has put up some great high school stats as well. I personally would want him over Henderson and Reid. Whats your take?

That was a great ending to a very entertaining game

ZagNative
04-19-2008, 11:07 AM
Will somebody close by BobZag reach over and give him a sharp cuff upside the head?

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 11:08 AM
Will somebody close by BobZag reach over and give him a sharp cuff upside the head?

um.. he's not the one who needs the cuff *cough, cough* ;)

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 11:29 AM
Jordan's next game (first game of tourney play) is at 330 our time on court 3 today, which should be on channel 3 on the link in my 1st post.

BobZag
04-19-2008, 02:26 PM
Bob- I'm curious to how high Anthony Marshall is on the wish list of the staff. He was pretty incredible out there today, and has put up some great high school stats as well. I personally would want him over Henderson and Reid. Whats your take?

That was a great ending to a very entertaining game

He's on the wish list. In what order, who knows? I get the feeling he may not be #1 but I don't know any details. I like him, though, and I'd take him if he is what the team needed in two+ years.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 02:29 PM
Getting ready to start, its Southern CA All Stars Elite Vs King James Shooting Stars on channel 3 here http://76.74.252.140/doublepump/playing.php?channel=3. King James in the black.

Here's the SCA roster, some interesting names on it:
0 LaBradford Franklin 6' 2" lbs 2010 Point Guard Vista Murrietta
0 Demitrius Walker 6' 3" lbs 2009 Guard Serra
0 Dwayne Polee 6' 7" lbs 2010 Guard Westchester
0 Donald Johnson 6' 7" lbs 2008 Forward Antelope Valley
0 Alec Williams 6' 6" lbs 2009 Forward Serra
0 Mason Jones 6' 4" lbs 2009 Guard Mater Dei
0 Lance Bailey 6' 2" lbs 2009 Point Guard Fairfax
0 Melvin Oliver 6' 10" lbs 2008 Center Prep
0 Wayne Wiggins 6' 9" lbs 2008 Forward Prep
0 Travis Wear 6' 10" lbs 2009 Forward Mater Dei
0 David Wear 6' 10" lbs 2009 Forward Mater Dei

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 02:49 PM
5:20 left in the first half, 35-30, KJ has 30.

Now 32, J just scored! :)

theothegreat21
04-19-2008, 02:50 PM
He's on the wish list. In what order, who knows? I get the feeling he may not be #1 but I don't know any details. I like him, though, and I'd take him if he is what the team needed in two+ years.

Interesting to see what happens. I really hope he becomes a high priority for the staff. He was incredibly fearless attacking the basket, and just seemed to have an edge and a smoothness to his game. Plus he is also known as an incredible defender.

Wow Lynette, that is quite the team Jordan is going against. If im not mistaken, both the Wear Twins are North Carolina bound, and Westchester and Mater Dei are two of the better teams in the nation. Best of luck to Jordan, I was very impressed earlier

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 02:53 PM
Wow Lynette, that is quite the team Jordan is going against. If im not mistaken, both the Wear Twins are North Carolina bound, and Westchester and Mater Dei are two of the better teams in the nation. Best of luck to Jordan, I was very impressed earlier

I know! I doubt sis and J know though, since they are midwest. J going to the line again.... please work on those FTs neph!

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 02:58 PM
50-41 at the half. (KJs has the 41)

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 03:42 PM
I think they just won!! I believe KJs was the home team, if so, they did win! Waiting to hear from sis.

They did win!!!!! Next game is at 815p Mountain, or 715p our time on Court 2, so channel 2 on the video.

WOOHOO!!!!! J says the Wear bros weren't playing. He knew who they were, although sis did not.

BobZag
04-19-2008, 04:07 PM
Wear twins or not, that SoCal team is still good.

What were J's stats?

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 04:20 PM
Wear twins or not, that SoCal team is still good.

What were J's stats?

Bugger, I don't know. If I find out I'll post. He did well again, had some nice soft-touch baskets and then a few more dunks, too! I hadn't realized King James caught up to, and passed, SCA in scoring! I was deliriously happy!

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 06:28 PM
And we're off... next game is against Net Gain Sports, here is their roster.

1 Kellen Taylor 6' 7" 185 lbs 2009 Wing Wayzata High School
4 Kyle Mason 6' 0" 170 lbs 2009 Guard Osseo
5 Jarrod Peterson 5' 11" 180 lbs 2009 Shooting Guard Wayzata High School
15 Emeka Okafor 6' 7" 208 lbs 2008 Forward Champlain Park High
22 Cole Stefan 6' 3" 180 lbs 2010 Guard Minnetonka High
23 Tor Anderson 6' 3" 185 lbs 2010 Guard Prior Lake High
31 Deryck Ludwig 6' 9" 200 lbs 2009 Forward Prior Lake High
34 Trent Lockett 6' 5" 205 lbs 2009 Guard Hopkins High
35 Sam Dower 6' 9" 210 lbs 2009 Forward Osseo High
42 Raymond Cowels 6' 5" 204 lbs 2009 Guard Hopkins High

Sis called and said Leon Rice is watching this game.

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 06:35 PM
link to this game http://76.74.252.140/doublepump/playing.php?channel=2

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 06:45 PM
42-23 KJs down at the half. Wow. they look a bit tired. The opponent is from Minnesota.....?? huh?? LOL

LynetteG
04-19-2008, 07:15 PM
Boy, that was ugly. Don't know what the final score was, but it was a blow out. Ah well... team was not able to stay until the end of the tourney anyway since they have a 3pm flight tomorrow to get back home. The coaches did not want the kids to miss two days of school (Fri/Mon). Good job King James!

thespywhozaggedme
04-19-2008, 07:25 PM
The Canadian national team is 2-0, crushing both of their Texas opponents thus far. They beat Houston Swoosh by 44 and DFW Green by 34:eek: :eek: :eek: As the self professed Canadian prep hoops expert I've been harping on for years Canada is a goldmine and being so close we've gotta recruit those kids to the north of us big time. I'm still bummed we didn't really go after Devoe Joseph.

http://www.basketball.ca/en/hm/inside.php?sid=1&id=1931

zagsfanforlife
04-19-2008, 11:51 PM
Wear twins or not, that SoCal team is still good.

What were J's stats?

man that socal team is stacked!!! Wear twins, and look out for Dwayne Polee from my town Westchester. The man has amazing skills. I think he verbally committed to USC after half of the freshman season.