PDA

View Full Version : Davidson



siliconzag
03-28-2008, 04:39 PM
is amazing. They are beating Wisconsin, and even if they don't beat them they are scaring hell out of them. This is a vindication of the Zags in a way. I think if Wisconsin with their defense, arguably one of the best two or three teams in the country in terms of defensive consistency, is having troubles with Stephen Curry et al, then it really says their is no shame in losing to them 100 miles from their campus. Kind of reminds me of another upset in 1999 in the Key Arena. The one that got things rolling. When the Bulldog topped the Maddog. Go Davidson!!!

Sili

McZag
03-28-2008, 04:40 PM
Don't look now, Mr. Curry is at it again. Scratch that, Prof. Curry.

MickMick
03-28-2008, 04:41 PM
If the Zags would have kept the turnovers under control then they would be where Davidson is right now. I sincerely believe that.

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 04:45 PM
How in the world does Wisc get outrebounded on the offensive boards 8-5?

brian_sun
03-28-2008, 04:48 PM
The guy got overlooked even though he averages 26+ game on the team with the longest winning streak in the nation. But he should be in the conversation for national player of the year. No dis-respect to Mr. Hansbrough and Beasley, but Curry is as deserving for that award as anyone.

BobZag
03-28-2008, 04:48 PM
Curry going off again. 26 points, and counting.

McZag
03-28-2008, 04:50 PM
The guy got overlooked even though he averages 26+ game on the team with the longest winning streak in the nation. But he should be in the conversation for national player of the year. No dis-respect to Mr. Hansbrough and Beasley, but Curry is as deserving for that award as anyone.

Here Here. He is a true talent and has no fear. I don't think Wisconsin foresaw this kind of a fight.

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 04:51 PM
O M G - Curry!!!

McZag
03-28-2008, 04:52 PM
O M G - Curry!!!

OMG!

zag67
03-28-2008, 04:53 PM
I think that they have vindicated the GU loss. Hopefully some of our ney sayers will think differently about everything.

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 04:57 PM
BOOO!!!


CBS just switched to Tex/Stan :(

BobZag
03-28-2008, 05:04 PM
Curry at 31 points, and defensive specialist Michael Flowers was supposed to lock him down.

McZag
03-28-2008, 05:09 PM
Curry at 31 points, and defensive specialist Michael Flowers was supposed to lock him down.

So impressive.

McZag
03-28-2008, 05:15 PM
Wisconsin Farm Boys pitted against a rare basketball talent = A Davidson route. What a great run by the Wildcats. And yes the Zags are vindicated. Davidson is Elite!!!

Zagpower
03-28-2008, 05:17 PM
Curry outscore the entire Wisconsin team in the second half.

jigga5
03-28-2008, 05:20 PM
Curry is the real deal.. look for it it the NBA too... and bring the negs all you want.

Zerogame
03-28-2008, 05:22 PM
The Zags are as bad as everyone said. Let's start over again, new coach, players, arena, town, state. You nay sayers were right all along!
:mad: :mad:

BobZag
03-28-2008, 05:25 PM
Davidson has beaten Gonzaga by 6, beaten Georgetown by 4 and beaten Wisconsin by 17 points. Curry goes for 40, 30 and 33 points. WCC, Big East and Big Ten champs all go down to Curry & Co.

brian_sun
03-28-2008, 05:27 PM
according to nbadraft.net:

Lacks great athletic ability, although he shows good quickness Body is on the small side, short arms and lack of great natural body strength Lacks great visibility and competition level at mid-major Davidson.

So he's probably too small to play at the NBA at the SG position, but in 4 NCAA tourney games against non-mid-major opponents, he's scored 30, 40, 30 and 33 points. It's not against NBA competition, but how many SG in the NBA can do that? The guy can play, no matter what league he's in.

brian_sun
03-28-2008, 05:30 PM
BobZag: he also scored 30 pts against Maryland in Davidson's first round loss last year. Think Virginia Tech would love to have him just about now?


Davidson has beaten Gonzaga by 6, beaten Georgetown by 4 and beaten Wisconsin by 17 points. Curry goes for 40, 30 and 33 points. WCC, Big East and Big Ten champs all go down to Curry & Co.

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 05:30 PM
according to nbadraft.net:

Lacks great athletic ability, although he shows good quickness Body is on the small side, short arms and lack of great natural body strength Lacks great visibility and competition level at mid-major Davidson.

So he's probably too small to play at the NBA at the SG position, but in 4 NCAA tourney games against non-mid-major opponents, he's scored 30, 40, 30 and 33 points. It's not against NBA competition, but how many SG in the NBA can do that? The guy can play, no matter what league he's in.
That behind the backboard reverse lay in +1 belies his lack of athletic ability.

McZag
03-28-2008, 05:32 PM
I think that they have vindicated the GU loss. Hopefully some of our ney sayers will think differently about everything.

Vindicated is right. And the Cats aren't done.

brian_sun
03-28-2008, 05:36 PM
Vindicated is right. And the Cats aren't done.

You think they can beat Kansas? I think the dancing shoes will drop here in the Elite 8. KU is a complete different animal than Wisconsin, GU and GU. They can play both ends of the floor. I would still expect Mr. Curry to score 30+, but I think KU will take this one.

BobZag
03-28-2008, 05:37 PM
BobZag: he also scored 30 pts against Maryland in Davidson's first round loss last year. Think Virginia Tech would love to have him just about now?

I can also think of a team in Spokane that would love to have him about now. :) I mean, Bo Ryan is a defense-first coach, that's what Bo emphasises, and with almost a week's preparation, Curry still smokes Wisky.

thickman1
03-28-2008, 05:42 PM
I love what Davidson is doing. I really believed that whoever escaped the GU/Davidson game would get to the Elite 8. I'm happy for them but at the same time it stings to watch them doing so well knowing that maybe if Curry doesn't hit that scrambled 3 after the missed free throw rebound it could easily be GU in this spot. Go Wildcats!

McZag
03-28-2008, 05:43 PM
You think they can beat Kansas? I think the dancing shoes will drop here in the Elite 8. KU is a complete different animal than Wisconsin, GU and GU. They can play both ends of the floor. I would still expect Mr. Curry to score 30+, but I think KU will take this one.

Assuming they will face Kansas. One step at a time.

Zerogame
03-28-2008, 05:50 PM
I think it is time Gonzaga sees the light and drops down to the NAIA level of competetion. Who are they kidding. The Zags are a bush team, it's obvious to all. Just think, we could be playing Central, Western, and just dominate. Maybe I could get hired as the new coach and send Few packing. There's a high school job in town he would be right for.


I'm so pissed at all of those out there knocking the Zags on this site. Hell they played Davidson in their backyard.

I know a few of you say you have the right to knock this team, but I think you don't really understand what Gonzaga has done and will do in the future.
GO ZAGS
:D

McZag
03-28-2008, 05:52 PM
I think it is time Gonzaga sees the light and drops down to the NAIA level of competetion. Who are they kidding. The Zags are a bush team, it's obvious to all. Just think, we could be playing Central, Western, and just dominate. Maybe I could get hired as the new coach and send Few packing. There's a high school job in town he would be right for.



:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: NICE

Birddog
03-28-2008, 05:53 PM
It's not so much Curry's offense as it is Ryan's poor coaching. He had a week to prepare for this.

Zerogame
03-28-2008, 05:56 PM
Get on the bus MCZAG your my new assistant, we're heading to Ellensburg for a scrimmage tonight. No time to rest.:o

McZag
03-28-2008, 06:04 PM
Get on the bus MCZAG your my new assistant, we're heading to Ellensburg for a scrimmage tonight. No time to rest.:o

We better start with the Old Zags, then Whitworth. Not sure we can play with ANYBODY right now.

VinnyZag
03-28-2008, 06:11 PM
I think it is time Gonzaga sees the light and drops down to the NAIA level of competetion. Who are they kidding. The Zags are a bush team, it's obvious to all. Just think, we could be playing Central, Western, and just dominate.
:D

Actually, I think Central and Western are NCAA D-II. At NAIA, we'd be up against Lewis-Clark State, so I'd like our chances. :)

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 06:15 PM
You think they can beat Kansas? I think the dancing shoes will drop here in the Elite 8. KU is a complete different animal than Wisconsin, GU and GU. They can play both ends of the floor. I would still expect Mr. Curry to score 30+, but I think KU will take this one.
I good KU friend of mine was actually pulling for WISC because he thought KU had a better chance. Now KU has to face a hostile crowd.

McZag
03-28-2008, 06:26 PM
I good KU friend of mine was actually pulling for WISC because he thought KU had a better chance. Now KU has to face a hostile crowd.

Did the thought ever cross your friend's mind that they would lose to Nova? Not that they will but this thing is one game at a time. Ask Tenn., Duke, Pitt etc.

cggonzaga
03-28-2008, 06:28 PM
I can also think of a team in Spokane that would love to have him about now. I mean, Bo Ryan is a defense-first coach, that's what Bo emphasises, and with almost a week's preparation, Curry still smokes Wisky.


Curry = great player. If you think we are vindicated because he's lit up Wisconsin that's fine. I doubt our players feel vindicated because he's schooled those teams. They're probably feeling just the opposite thinking that it should be us playing Kansas on Sunday.

Gtown & Wisconsin = very overrated teams. You can check a post of mine before the tournament started when I said this. I loved our bracket and saw a very feasible run to the Kansas game.

Congrats to Davidson and Mr. Curry. You guys are putting on one hell of a show.

MickMick
03-28-2008, 06:28 PM
Every once in awhile I have to call out people that think I don't have a clue (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=190076#post190076). And later on in the thread (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=190209#post190209).

In other words....Zags get past Davidson, and I had them in the elite 8.

dpouley
03-28-2008, 06:33 PM
according to nbadraft.net:

Lacks great athletic ability, although he shows good quickness Body is on the small side, short arms and lack of great natural body strength Lacks great visibility and competition level at mid-major Davidson.


Reggie Miller made it work. (Although Miller did not have short arms.)

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 06:43 PM
Where WISC lost:

WISC TOs - 11
DAVIDSON TOs - 5

WISC REBs - 25
DAVIDSON REBs - 26

MickMick
03-28-2008, 06:56 PM
Where WISC lost:

WISC TOs - 11
DAVIDSON TOs - 5

WISC REBs - 25
DAVIDSON REBs - 26

Now show the Zag/Davidson comparison for the same stats......and I'll show you why the Zags lost as well.

gum797
03-28-2008, 07:18 PM
I really think that if Curry played for a big school, then teams would have changed their defensive philosophies. But because he plays for little ol Davidson, I think a guy like Bo Ryan is too cocky and has too big of an ego (ego comment coming from an old Big 10 coach) to scheme against him instead of running your same stuff. I agree with others on this thread, if we got by them, this would be us making this run

kitzbuel
03-28-2008, 07:19 PM
Now show the Zag/Davidson comparison for the same stats......and I'll show you why the Zags lost as well.
This gets you to wondering if teams spend too much time trying to figure out Curry and don't spend time trying to figure out how to beat Davidson's defense. Curry's greatest value maybe that he masks the defense.

zag944
03-28-2008, 08:48 PM
while I feel better and better about our loss seeing Davidson destroying everyones bracket, I grow more and more furious at the selection committee. How in the f is davidson a 10 seed with 22 straight wins going into the tournament. Hindsight is 20/20, but we got one of the 8 best teams in the tourney (right by their school at that). That is a VERY VERY tough draw. Oh well, thats the nature of the beast I guess.

Bow Man
03-28-2008, 08:52 PM
To bad the Zags had to play Davidson in the first round--turned out they were pretty good. I thought the Zags played one of their best games of the year against them - especially on offense where we were just lighting it up (except for those last three minutes).

The WCC tourney aside, the guys were really coming together and playing well. It's looking good for next season.

Go Davidson! What are they, the Gonzaga of 1999 or George Mason of 2006?

CDC84
03-28-2008, 09:09 PM
Starting this tournament, Wisconsin was #1 in defensive efficiency at kenpom.com. I also think they were #1 in defensive field goal percentage in the country or very close to it. Davidson lit them up for 49% tonight. And as BZ said, Flowers is a grade A college defender.

Some credit also needs to go to Davidson PG Jason Richards. The NCAA leader in assists per game had 13 of them tonight and didn't have a single turnover. That is what you call dominate point guard play.

The problem for Curry is that the next team he faces has 3 guards on it who are great defenders. I am sure that all three will rotate on him to keep fresh bodies in his face all afternoon.

MickMick
03-28-2008, 11:37 PM
Wisconsin is a fine example of kenpom.com not being the end-all for grading teams. Simply another tool like RPI. It doesn't take into account that this may be the worst I have seen the Big 10 (or the ACC) in my lifetime. A relatively long one compared to many of you out there.

And from CDC:


Some credit also needs to go to Davidson PG Jason Richards. The NCAA leader in assists per game had 13 of them tonight and didn't have a single turnover. That is what you call dominate point guard play.

That says it all. Now....ahem....about the Zag turnovers.



Edit: Stephen Curry passes up Pargo and Heytvelt in 2009 mock draft (http://www.draftexpress.com/nba-mock-draft/2009/).

mgadfly
03-29-2008, 06:00 AM
It doesn't take into account that this may be the worst I have seen the Big 10 (or the ACC) in my lifetime.

You do know that Ken Pom does take that into account, right?

Wisconsin wasn't overrated. They got a three seed which put them at somewhere between #9 and #12 according to the committee. They 29-4 going into the tournament, were 10-0 in their last 10, and the only teams they have lost to this season were Duke, Marquette, Purdue, Purdue, and Davidson.

How often does a 29-4 conference champion from a major conference with a 10-0 record in the past 10 not get a #1 or #2 seed? Not often... but the committee recognized that the Big 10 was down this year and dropped them to a three.

What do you think would have been more appropriate? A 5 seed? A 6 seed?

MickMick
03-29-2008, 06:29 AM
You do know that Ken Pom does take that into account, right?

Wisconsin wasn't overrated. They got a three seed which put them at somewhere between #9 and #12 according to the committee. They 29-4 going into the tournament, were 10-0 in their last 10, and the only teams they have lost to this season were Duke, Marquette, Purdue, Purdue, and Davidson.

How often does a 29-4 conference champion from a major conference with a 10-0 record in the past 10 not get a #1 or #2 seed? Not often... but the committee recognized that the Big 10 was down this year and dropped them to a three.

What do you think would have been more appropriate? A 5 seed? A 6 seed?


Perhaps the numbers (and seed) are appropriate. I still believe this is the worst the Big 10 has been (top to bottom) I have ever seen. I call it my own personal "eye test". I believed that Wisconsin was the worst of the #3 seeds before the tournament began. But according to the number crunchers, they were given the slot.


Not a perfect world. No one can convince me that Davidson is a #10 seed. Zags got screwed on that one (playing at their place) . But....I suppose that is how kenpom would suggest it should be ;)

mgadfly
03-29-2008, 07:03 AM
Not a perfect world. No one can convince me that Davidson is a #10 seed. Zags got screwed on that one (playing at their place) . But....I suppose that is how kenpom would suggest it should be ;)

I guess Davidson not being a 10 seed proves Wisconsin was overrated. I would think that Wisconsin losing to an underrated Davidson would make that less of a "bad" loss and therefore reflect that a very good team (Wisconsin) got beat by another very good team (Davidson).

I agree that GU got hosed by playing a team that was ranked, had the #2 non-conference SOS, had won twenty-two straight games, and had good experienced leadership on a court near that opponents home. Still, Davidson being good, doesn't make an argument that Georgetown and Wisconsin are overrated stronger.

All GU, GU, and WISC were very good teams that Davidson has had to beat. But I'm sure the eye test reveals that Georgetown was the worst #2 seed, Wisconsin was the worst #3 seed, Gonzaga was the worst #7 seed and so forth because the tourney selection committee was going out of their way to make sure that its pick, Davidson, would make it to the Elite 8. Of course, if they beat Kansas, that means that Kansas was the worst #1 seed too.

Rangerzag
03-29-2008, 07:15 AM
Before the Zag game I stated it might be better to think of Zags as an eight and Davidson a 9. We would still play. Maybe not completely fair to play that far South and East.

Bottom line. If Zags were as good as we hoped, they beat San Diego in San Diego, Zags beat Davidson and go from there. They didn't do either. The season is over.

MickMick
03-29-2008, 08:29 AM
I guess Davidson not being a 10 seed proves Wisconsin was overrated. I would think that Wisconsin losing to an underrated Davidson would make that less of a "bad" loss and therefore reflect that a very good team (Wisconsin) got beat by another very good team (Davidson).

I agree that GU got hosed by playing a team that was ranked, had the #2 non-conference SOS, had won twenty-two straight games, and had good experienced leadership on a court near that opponents home. Still, Davidson being good, doesn't make an argument that Georgetown and Wisconsin are overrated stronger.

All GU, GU, and WISC were very good teams that Davidson has had to beat. But I'm sure the eye test reveals that Georgetown was the worst #2 seed, Wisconsin was the worst #3 seed, Gonzaga was the worst #7 seed and so forth because the tourney selection committee was going out of their way to make sure that its pick, Davidson, would make it to the Elite 8. Of course, if they beat Kansas, that means that Kansas was the worst #1 seed too.



I have Kansas over Texas in the championship. Just a coincidence perhaps, but I also thought the Big 12 was the best top-to-bottom conference. Dunno what kenpom makes of that.

jim77
03-29-2008, 09:29 AM
KU will be a stern test for Curry and co. I really like the possum routine that Curry pulls in the first half. He runs you around then in the second half he's wide open as the "chaser(s)" wears down. He's getting most of his points in the second half.

KU needs to jump on the cats early or they'll see the 2nd half "blitz" like all the other victims. KU needs to go after Lovedale on the inside and get Davidson in foul trouble....they also need to make Curry defend..to the point that they deliberatly pass the ball to the guy who Curry's guarding...even if it means less than desirable shots. Its not like Curry can guard any player in the ku starting 5, cause he can't. Curry's getting a free ride and KU needs to get physical with him. The guy is just running around till the other team forgets about him or gets lazy.....he's done 3 teams in with the same routine. Davidson works hard to protect Curry(on offense and defense)..KU needs to go after him from the outset.....and they better put their 2nd best defender on the "assist machine". Should be a good game.

mgadfly
03-29-2008, 11:25 AM
I have Kansas over Texas in the championship. Just a coincidence perhaps, but I also thought the Big 12 was the best top-to-bottom conference. Dunno what kenpom makes of that.

I don't see who ken picked or if any of the writers on the associated blog picked a bracket. But the ratings have the Big 12 as the best conference this year by a fairly substantial margin over the Pac 10, with ACC 3rd.

It does have Kansas as the best team, but doesn't have much separation between the top 4 teams (and Texas isn't included in there as they are #7).

At the beginning of the season I thought UCLA was going to be the best in the country. After watching UNC play I thought they would end up champs. But now that I've seen Kansas play in the tournament, and considering how experienced their team is, I have to say they look just as good as those two teams. I still think Texas, Memphis, and Louisville are a step below those teams (that doesn't mean they won't beat them, since my eye-test isn't reliable -- heck, I picked GU to beat USD in the conference tourney -- just that I think the best three teams are UNC, UCLA, and Kansas).