PDA

View Full Version : Official 1st half of 1st day Tourney Thread



lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 08:27 AM
It's on!

http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/happy057.gifhttp://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/happy057.gifhttp://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/happy057.gifhttp://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/happy057.gif

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 08:28 AM
A guy from X took a hard elbow to the face about 2 minutes into the game. I hurt just from seeing it.

ZagNative
03-20-2008, 08:29 AM
Excellent idea, Lothar. I'm so excited!

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 08:32 AM
1st 3 games - all just started:

#3 Xavier - #14 Georgia
#1 Kansas - #16 Portland St (really should have gotten a 15...)
#5 Michigan St - #12 Temple

my scoreboard of choice for tourney games: http://www.sportsline.com/collegebasketball/scoreboard

ZagSlug
03-20-2008, 08:35 AM
Is it too early for my bracket to be an absolute mess?

rennis
03-20-2008, 08:43 AM
Is it too early for my bracket to be an absolute mess?

absolutely

Go Xavier!

ZagNative
03-20-2008, 08:44 AM
Gametracking won't be available on my usual choice, ESPN, but it's available at cstv.com, here (http://www.cstv.com/media/livegame.html).

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 08:45 AM
Is it too early for my bracket to be an absolute mess?
give my bracket about 2 hours...

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 08:46 AM
Georgia with the early 6 point lead.


I'll be VERY pissed if they win!

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 08:58 AM
Can I be like CNN on election nights?


"With a few early returns coming in, Lothar in now able to safely predict that Kansas has won thier first round game against Portland St."

BobZag
03-20-2008, 09:08 AM
A guy from X took a hard elbow to the face about 2 minutes into the game. I hurt just from seeing it.

Was it Corey Butler who delivered the elbow?

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 09:09 AM
Just going by what I'm watching in this game, Xavier is the team that looks like they should be a double digit seed. Georgia is much bigger and more athletic.

ZagSlug
03-20-2008, 09:09 AM
I had Xavier going very far, hope they wake up

BobZag
03-20-2008, 09:13 AM
When UGA won 3 games in 30 hours and started rolling I told a friend that I was glad GU didn't have to play them. UGA has "big mo". Look out.

CarolinaZagFan
03-20-2008, 09:13 AM
Well, CZF's bracket is already about to be busted...I have Xavier in the Elite Eight :( ...dangit Georgia haha.

FuManShoes
03-20-2008, 09:14 AM
On the one hand, a win would validate GU's romping of them oh so many weeks ago. On the other had, I hate these guys for the classless way they took out Pargo at the end of the game and more importantly, I have Xavier getting to the Elite 8 in all my brackets!!

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:16 AM
Just going by what I'm watching in this game, Xavier is the team that looks like they should be a double digit seed. Alabama is much bigger and more athletic.
'bama? ;)

TexasZagFan
03-20-2008, 09:17 AM
Georgia with the early 6 point lead.


I'll be VERY pissed if they win!

I'm with you lothar...I've got X making it past the Sweet 16.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:17 AM
Was it Corey Butler who delivered the elbow?
:D

...don't know who it was, but it was while going for a rebound so it looked accidental.

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 09:17 AM
'bama? ;)

Oops. :o

ZagSlug
03-20-2008, 09:20 AM
I usually do poor in my brackets because I just cannot pick some teams to win, Georgia being a prime example. Indiana is another. UCLA is too good not to pick at least in the first round or two

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 09:21 AM
i let my wife talked me into taking Temple. Darn!:(

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:23 AM
i let my wife talked me into taking Temple. Darn!:(
did your wife fill out a bracket? if she's anything like my wife, odds are hers will be better than yours once the final game is played...

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 09:24 AM
Atlantic 10 = goose eggs

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 09:27 AM
did your wife fill out a bracket? if she's anything like my wife, odds are hers will be better than yours once the final game is played...

You're right on. I picked on my own, except for Temple game. Still got one more half...

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:29 AM
X down 9 @ half.

c'mon!




also @ half - KU by 20+ & MSU by 9


why can't CBS stagger the start times better???????? every year it's the same thing...with this many games there should NEVER be a time when there is no game in progress!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TexasZagFan
03-20-2008, 09:50 AM
X down 9 @ half.

c'mon!




also @ half - KU by 20+ & MSU by 9


why can't CBS stagger the start times better???????? every year it's the same thing...with this many games there should NEVER be a time when there is no game in progress!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My bracket is smoldering..................

:mecry: :explode: :eek: :vomit-smiley-007:

At least I picked KU over PSU...

former1dog
03-20-2008, 09:54 AM
Xavier within 4.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:56 AM
PSU now just 21 down! go Vikings!!!!!!!!

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 09:56 AM
put a fork in Temple!

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:57 AM
PSU now just 21 down! go Vikings!!!!!!!!
nevermind... ;)

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 09:59 AM
almost put X into the FF, but eventually "only" put them in the Sw16...

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:06 AM
X is up 3. 7:18 left.

lawzag
03-20-2008, 10:07 AM
X up 52-49 with 7:58 remaining

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:07 AM
put a fork in Temple!
pretty much

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 10:08 AM
Rub thought about having them lose to Purdue in the second round, but went with Sweet 16 instead.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:17 AM
Looks like X finally woke up and realized they were the better team. Hopefully they don't let up.

PilotNut
03-20-2008, 10:28 AM
Has anyone done ANY work since the games tippied off?!

Thank goodness X woke up.

Congrats to PSU on a fine season... and a valiant effort vs. the Jayhawks.

PSU got screwed on seeding... they did not deserve a 16 seed. 15 or 14? yes. 16? no.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:29 AM
timeout.

X up 3.

~1 minutes left.

1st close finish of the tourney...

(hope MMOD doesn't freeze up due to high traffic)

Akzag
03-20-2008, 10:29 AM
Woohoo! I'm 1-0 ... I'm winning the bracket challenge. Respect my Bracketology.

MedZag
03-20-2008, 10:35 AM
Mouseketeers lock up the W. 3-0 so far!

Announcer just said Xavier is a 3 seed cause they have "superior intellect." Wow.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:38 AM
Woohoo! I'm 1-0 ... I'm winning the bracket challenge. Respect my Bracketology.
http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/959/respectnp0.jpg

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:39 AM
timeout.

X up 3.

~1 minutes left.

1st close finish of the tourney...

(hope MMOD doesn't freeze up due to high traffic)
MMOD frooze up too much for my liking and it wasn't really a photo finish, but my bracket is happy how it ended...

3-0 (and probably tied w/ 90% of America for 1st place)

ZagSlug
03-20-2008, 10:48 AM
Easy woohoo.

No premature jocularity....it is a long weekend. ;)

ZagSlug
03-20-2008, 10:52 AM
Thanks to a grant for my classroom I have one of these to watch at school

http://www.thepelhams.org/zagpics/tv.jpg

TM27
03-20-2008, 10:53 AM
anyone know why there are so many empty seats at these sites? Each game has a ton of empty seats right above each teams bench. Why?

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:56 AM
Marquette player named: Dan Fitzgerald (http://www.sportsline.com/collegebasketball/players/playerpage/525930) (a SR)

why didn't I know this already?

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 10:58 AM
anyone know why there are so many empty seats at these sites? Each game has a ton of empty seats right above each teams bench. Why?
some tickets are sold as full packages, so some people may only show up for the night games.

also, the 4 teams in the morning (& 4 @ night) get tickets for their fans, you may be seeing the spot for fans of a team playing in the 2nd game of the session and they didn't bother to show up for the 1st game...

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 11:03 AM
anyone know why there are so many empty seats at these sites? Each game has a ton of empty seats right above each teams bench. Why?

Edit: what Lothar said.

Akzag
03-20-2008, 11:06 AM
The second wave of games has commenced ...

UNLV - Kent State
Kentucky - Marquette

Akzag
03-20-2008, 11:06 AM
Oral Roberts - Pittsburgh
Baylor-Purdue

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 11:08 AM
Thanks to a grant for my classroom I have one of these to watch at school

http://www.thepelhams.org/zagpics/tv.jpg

That TV is probably bigger than the blackboard, very sweet.

TM27
03-20-2008, 11:09 AM
some tickets are sold as full packages, so some people may only show up for the night games.

also, the 4 teams in the morning (& 4 @ night) get tickets for their fans, you may be seeing the spot for fans of a team playing in the 2nd game of the session and they didn't bother to show up for the 1st game...

Gracias, amigo/a ...confirmed my assumption.

PilotNut
03-20-2008, 11:10 AM
Thanks to a grant for my classroom I have one of these to watch at school

http://www.thepelhams.org/zagpics/tv.jpg


Lucky dog!

former1dog
03-20-2008, 11:11 AM
Thanks to a grant for my classroom I have one of these to watch at school

http://www.thepelhams.org/zagpics/tv.jpg

Good one! Are you a land developer in Florida also? ;)

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 11:16 AM
*twitch*

...coffee probably wasn't needed today...

*twitch*




UNLV up big early, the other 3 are close (all in the 1st half)

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 11:17 AM
Xavier, Mich St, and Kansas covered; 3 down three to go on my parlay. . .

The Peppermill and the Grand Sierra Resort have drawn pretty good crowds; lots of KU fans at the Peppermill.

UNLV is laying the wood to Kent State so far. . .18 - 6, 9:00 to go.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 11:24 AM
Xavier, Mich St, and Kansas covered; 3 down three to go on my parlay. . .
a 6 team parlay!!! what's the payoff on that? :eek:

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 11:26 AM
22-6...I wonder if Kent State got the memo--the game already started!! :mad:

Akzag
03-20-2008, 11:27 AM
Could somebody please wake up the Golden Flashes?

[thank you, to the higher-up for the appropriate earlier edit]

former1dog
03-20-2008, 11:28 AM
Make that 25-6 :(

Akzag
03-20-2008, 11:29 AM
Somewhere Rick Majerus is thinking, "C'mon Kent State - mmm these ribs are good - five more minutes and everyone will forget about our pathetic first half earlier in the season."

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 11:30 AM
$52 for $1 Wager. . .I need Pitt to win by 9, Miss Valley State to lose by less than 32, and Drake to win by 4. . .

Last year, all 8 of the "afternoon session" games covered on the first day of he tourney. . .8 team parlay pays $208 for $1. . .

MickMick
03-20-2008, 11:30 AM
I took Kent St. based on what they did to St. Marys. Looks like UNLV is going to crush them.

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 11:33 AM
Rub's just going to have to hope for 6 of 7.

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 11:35 AM
$52 for $1 Wager. . .I need Pitt to win by 9, Miss Valley State to lose by less than 32, and Drake to win by 4. . .

Last year, all 8 of the "afternoon session" games covered on the first day of he tourney. . .8 team parlay pays $208 for $1. . .

I don' think i ever hit a 6 teamers..good luck to you. Must be hard staying away from the sportsbooks living in Reno area.

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 11:38 AM
Kent State with 10 points at half time.

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 11:41 AM
Kent State with 10 points at half time.

What a bunch of dull games. Kent State is down 21 at half time. Oral Roberts is down 19 with 5 minutes left in the half. Baylor is down 14 with 7 left in the half.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 11:43 AM
What a bunch of dull games. Kent State is down 21 at half time. Oral Roberts is down 19 with 5 minutes left in the half. Baylor is down 14 with 7 left in the half.
picked the 3 teams that are winning huge, but would rather see close games...


...at least Kent-Marq is close

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 11:44 AM
How could I have missed this line...purdue -2.5 over Baylor? Should be at least 8, as number 6 seed playing 11 seed.

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 11:46 AM
I don' think i ever hit a 6 teamers..good luck to you. Must be hard staying away from the sportsbooks living in Reno area.

ZagMan:

I make maybe two or three $5 parlay wagers on the NCAA Tourney every year and I bet the three Triple Crown races and the Breeder's. And that's it. Have never had much fun or luck with the other gaming "opportunities."

When I was living in NorCal, we would make one trip a year to either Tahoe or Reno to blow off a little steam and do a little gambling. I would probably budget $200-300 for gaming for those trips. That's still my annual budget for gambling.

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 11:59 AM
ZagMan:

I make maybe two or three $5 parlay wagers on the NCAA Tourney every year and I bet the three Triple Crown races and the Breeder's. And that's it. Have never had much fun or luck with the other gaming "opportunities."

When I was living in NorCal, we would make one trip a year to either Tahoe or Reno to blow off a little steam and do a little gambling. I would probably budget $200-300 for gaming for those trips. That's still my annual budget for gambling.

That is great. When I was single, I used to make the annual pilgrimage to Vegas for the opening NFL season games with other buddies. What a great time at the casino, sportsbook, blackjack, buffets, all the football games from morning to night...have not been back for the last 3 years..ouch. Miss it, will have to talk to wife in going to next year's WCC conference tourney in Vegas.

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 12:02 PM
Sonic Drive In Gal:

http://www.improvmatchgame.com/graphics/headshots/erdman-c.jpg

I think the Midas ad with the dude crashing his car through the storefront is my nominee for the 2nd Annual Applebee's Memorial Annoying Commercial. . .

Running Rebels continue to dominate the Golden Flashes. . .42 - 18. . .

RomanZag
03-20-2008, 12:03 PM
UGA 2008='Cuse 2006.

That was an easy one to pick, fellas.

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 12:12 PM
How could I have missed this line...purdue -2.5 over Baylor? Should be at least 8, as number 6 seed playing 11 seed.

As of this AM, Miami is a half-point favorite over SMC. Kent State was -1.5 over UNLV.

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 12:21 PM
Hold on Marquette!

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 12:23 PM
What a bunch of dull games. Kent State is down 21 at half time. Oral Roberts is down 19 with 5 minutes left in the half. Baylor is down 14 with 7 left in the half.
not that it matters, but the scores of these 3 games are almost identical right now...

55-37 (or close to it)

ZaggyStardust
03-20-2008, 12:26 PM
not that it matters, but the scores of these 3 games are almost identical right now...


And the losing score for the first three games was 61! That's amazing!

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 12:33 PM
Only 4 players on Kentucky have scored (and one of those four has only 2 points). Only five have gotten any points/assists/rebounds at all. :lmao:

Akzag
03-20-2008, 12:36 PM
Looks like my perfection will be marred. Looks like 5-2 after this wave.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 12:38 PM
Looks like my perfection will be marred. Looks like 5-2 after this wave.
If Kent pulls it out, I'll be 7-0. (although it's close, I expect Marq to win at this point)

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 12:39 PM
anyone pick Cornell over Stanford in the stealth game?



lothar went with the tree

Rubbadub
03-20-2008, 12:42 PM
looks like I'm going to be 6-7

LynetteG
03-20-2008, 12:53 PM
Rub thought about having them lose to Purdue in the second round, but went with Sweet 16 instead.

i picked purdue over X next round... i am 4 for 4, 6 for 6 as soon as Pitt and Purdue are official... just need Kent St to beat UNLV, my only losing pick so far... if they lose.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 12:58 PM
i picked purdue over X next round... i am 4 for 4, 6 for 6 as soon as Pitt and Purdue are official... just need Kent St to beat UNLV, my only losing pick so far... if they lose.
um, kent st lost about 3 minutes after the tip-off...

ZagMania
03-20-2008, 12:59 PM
When the seeds hold its usually not good for my bracket. I picked Kent St, UK, and Temple.

LynetteG
03-20-2008, 01:01 PM
=I bet the three Triple Crown races

PYRO

LynetteG
03-20-2008, 01:05 PM
um, kent st lost about 3 minutes after the tip-off...

oh thanks Lothar! lol... was busy skiing up at Red, beuatiful day, great tree skiing! Speaking of tree, GO STANFORD! At least I will be 6 for 7 here in a few mins, not too shabby.

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 01:23 PM
for those that picked all chalk - you are now 7 for 7...


yippee...ugh.

Hopefully in the 9 games left today there is more than ZERO upsets!

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 01:25 PM
There's nothing wrong with picking chalk when they're the right picks ;)

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 01:33 PM
Stanford 17 -12 8:40 to go

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 01:36 PM
There's nothing wrong with picking chalk when they're the right picks ;)
did all the teams cover that you wanted to cover?

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 01:36 PM
There's nothing wrong with picking chalk when they're the right picks ;)
btw, what's the current GU line?

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 01:38 PM
On the parlay sheet, it shows Davidson -1.5. Have no idea what the money line is. . .

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 01:40 PM
On the parlay sheet, it shows Davidson -1.5. Have no idea what the money line is. . .
if only i was in Nevada...

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 01:46 PM
Sonic Drive In Gal:

http://www.improvmatchgame.com/graphics/headshots/erdman-c.jpg

I think the Midas ad with the dude crashing his car through the storefront is my nominee for the 2nd Annual Applebee's Memorial Annoying Commercial. . .

Running Rebels continue to dominate the Golden Flashes. . .42 - 18. . .


Just saw a Holiday Inn Express ad that trumps the Midas ad. . .

RenoZag
03-20-2008, 01:52 PM
did all the teams cover that you wanted to cover?



I need Pitt to win by 9, Miss Valley State to lose by less than 32, and Drake to win by 4. . .


Pitt did their part. . .UCLA game is later, Drake is one of the first games Friday.

johnwzag
03-20-2008, 01:53 PM
I thought Kent state was going to pull the first one off. My bad

zagzealot
03-20-2008, 01:54 PM
Last night as I was going to bed I said to Mr. Zealot, "I feel like this is Christmas Eve and I'm 6 years old waiting for Santa!" I LOVE MARCH MADNESS!!!

I am the bracket manager for my neigborhood pool. I'm currently in 3rd place behind my children. Damn Kent St. And yes, I picked Temple (need a long shot upset here and there, ok?! :o )

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 01:55 PM
On the parlay sheet, it shows Davidson -1.5. Have no idea what the money line is. . .

Current line, GU getting 2, money line is +110

I use this site to get update of the lines:


http://www.sportsbook.com/livesports/indexmember.php?quickSport=basketball&sportnames=basketball

ZagMania
03-20-2008, 02:05 PM
What online betting site would people suggest if I want to make a small wager tomorrow?

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 02:12 PM
What online betting site would people suggest if I want to make a small wager tomorrow?

I like bookmaker.com

you can check out reviews of sportsbooks here:

http://www.sportsbookreview.com/Recommended+List/default.aspx

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 02:29 PM
What online betting site would people suggest if I want to make a small wager tomorrow?
better yet, you could probably $till catch a late flight to vega$ and watch game$ there tomorrow...

(or Reno, I've heard that's a decent place too)

ZagMan in Philly
03-20-2008, 02:48 PM
better yet, you could probably $till catch a late flight to vega$ and watch game$ there tomorrow...

(or Reno, I've heard that's a decent place too)

very tempting indeed!

D Hark 2003
03-20-2008, 02:49 PM
Curtis Terry on UNLV is from Tacoma, he is a solid point guard at 6ft 4in. Kent States turnovers in the first half killed them. I had UNLV because they can fill it up and play D.

El Voce
03-20-2008, 02:59 PM
I am the bracket manager for my neigborhood pool. I'm currently in 3rd place behind my children. Damn Kent St. And yes, I picked Temple (need a long shot upset here and there, ok?! :o )

It surprises me not a bit that the Little Zealots are chalk players, given their affinity for certain hated ACC teams. It could be a long night in the Zealot house if those certain two teams pair up in this tourney. :)

lothar98zag
03-20-2008, 03:07 PM
lothar is 7 of 8 so far...

this thread is over.

next thread is here:

http://guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=191087