PDA

View Full Version : Friday Night Games for Meech Goodson, Andy Poling, Brock Osweiler, and Jeff Taylor



ZagNative
02-21-2008, 06:29 PM
Tonight I'm posting these as separate entries, starting with ....

Meech Goodson: Meech's Klein Collins team advances to the second round in the bi-district 5A playoffs with a game against Bryan. The game will be broadcast on tsrn.com online radio (http://www.tsrnsports.com/Broadcast/Broadcast-Schedule-2007.htm), with the pre-game starting at 4:35 PST (6:35 local time).

Story regarding Klein-Collins win over Conroe from The Courier (http://www.hcnonline.com/site/news.cfm?newsid=19312126&BRD=1574&PAG=461&dept_id=532228&rfi=6),

Klein Collins knocks off Conroe
By: Howard Roden, Assistant Sports Editor
02/20/2008

SPRING - Try as they might in practice, the Conroe High Tigers couldn't simulate Demitri Goodson's first step to the basket.

he stellar point guard sliced and diced his way through Conroe High's defense for a game-high 21 points and backcourt mate Michael Flores contributed 15 from the perimeter as the state's third-ranked 5A squad cruised to a 71-45 Region II bi-district win Tuesday night at the Spring High gym.

District 16-5A co-champion with Klein Forest, Collins (30-4) advances to an area round playoff game against the winner between 14th-ranked Bryan and Cedar Park.

Although the Tigers (18-16) made great strides this season during Jason Van Robays' first year at the helm - vaulting from the 15-5A cellar to a third-place finish - they were overwhelmed by a playoff-savvy Collins team.

"They ran the ball at us. That's what we wanted to do," Van Robays said. "I was impressed with their intensity and how physical they were."

Headed for the West Coast and Gonzaga University this fall, the 6-foot Goodson was virtually unstoppable. If he wasn't scoring on his slashing drives to the hoop, his penetrating moves opened the passing lanes for his teammates.

"We tried to simulate his quickness in practice, but it's hard to prepare your players for someone like that," Van Robays said.

Getting layup after layup, Collins shot 64 percent on 28 of 44 field goal attempts. The 5-foot-10 Flores was the lone exception in Collins' shot chart. He scored 13 of his points in the first half, including consecutive three-point baskets late in the first quarter that gave Collins an 18-6 lead.

When 6-foot-8 Basel Bawji (13 points) took one step back behind the three-point circle and knocked down a trey with 3:59 to play - pushing Collins margin to 67-40 - it was only the second outside shot by Collins in the game other than Flores'.

"We had him (Flores) listed as a shooter, but we were trying to give some help on guard Goodson," Van Robays said. "When he hit the first (trey) I wasn't worried, but then he started hitting every open shot."
Axe-grinding alert: Goodson lovers here on the board are granting a one-time-only amnesty to the Goodson doubters from months past here on the board. Got a feeling the Zags coaching staff hasn't lost it's touch at finding great but underrated players who can't believe their good fortune to be playing for the Zags?

ZN will definitely be tuning in for this one!

ZagNative
02-21-2008, 06:59 PM
Andy Poling: Westview plays Aloha at home at 7:30. I thought the game would be broadcast live on 1360 KUIK (http://www.kuik.com/Article.asp?id=549129), but now their schedule looks messed up, as it shows the game on the 19th instead of the 22nd. No idea ...

Westview is in 3rd place in league standings (http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/school/portland-westview/boysbasketball/standings/boysbasketball/), at 5-3 in league, 11-11 overall. A thread earlier this week (http://www.guboards.spokesmanreview.com/showthread.php?p=169960#post169960) linked a Rivals Story (http://www.rivals.com/content.asp?CID=775791) that said,

Seven-foot Andy Poling was unstoppable in the low post. One of the few shots he missed, however, was crucial. To the surprise of everyone in the gym, he missed a four-foot bank shot with his team trailing 58-60 in the last minute and the Wildcats never got another chance.

Poling finished with 19 points and is now playing his best ball since joining the Westview starting lineup four years ago. He's getting better position on offense and forcing opponents to double-team him. When that happens, he makes good passes that frequently result in open shots.
Andy's stat line to date:
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/9412/sstatswf0.jpg

From a friend at Westview:

Westview (5-3)vs. Aloha (2-6)
Friday 2/22 - SENIOR NIGHT FOR WESTVIEW. We will be honoring the seniors on the team and also announcing that Andy has been nominated for McDonalds All-American. We have two league games left, we have already clinched a playoff spot and if we win out the lowest seed will be #2 representative from the tough Metro League.

The game vs Aloha will be a test for Andy since they have a very good 6'9 post player that will challenge Andy.


Go Wildcats!

CarolinaZagFan
02-21-2008, 07:21 PM
Good stuff as always ZN, I can't wait to see Meech next year...I have a great feeling about him. I was just wondering if anyone has heard any news from Gibbs since his injury, about his rehab and everything?

ZagNative
02-21-2008, 07:32 PM
Brock Osweiler: The Flathead Braves (13-5, 5-4 in league) play Glacier (3-16, 0-11) at home at 7:00 PST (8:00 Kalispell time). The game will be broadcast as the second game of a double-header on MyHank.com (http://www.myhank.com/index.asp). MaxPreps comparison of tehw two teams (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/MatchUp.mxp/Boys_Varsity_Basketball_Winter_07-08/Montana/Team1ID-ae922fd0-40b8-4272-bf50-580d0bf2568f/Team2ID-4f62d861-7b57-416f-b9b1-487296135389) shows Brock with 24.9 ppg, 14.5 rpg, 2.3 spg, and 1.8 bpg. He leads in every category in the Maxpreps comparison for his team except assists.

Last game story from the Daily Interlake, Flathead over Helena HIgh 75-59 last Saturday (http://www.dailyinterlake.com/articles/2008/02/18/sports/sports01.txt).

Brock Osweiler had 25 points — including two 3-pointers and a slam dunk — with eight rebounds, three steals and three blocks. Connor Cavigli had 16 points, four rebounds, two steals and two assists.

Pregame story from the Daily Interlake here (http://www.dailyinterlake.com/articles/2008/02/22/sports/sports03.txt).

ZagNative
02-21-2008, 07:46 PM
Good stuff as always ZN, I can't wait to see Meech next year...I have a great feeling about him. I was just wondering if anyone has heard any news from Gibbs since his injury, about his rehab and everything?
Regarding Grant Gibbs, CZF, no news, except what was posted within the last few days speculating that he might be able to join the team for the playoffs.

For a preview of Jeff Taylor's game, I might wait until tomorrow morning. We'll see how these toothpicks work in proping my eylids up tonight.

ZagNative
02-21-2008, 08:07 PM
Jeff Taylor: Tops on the wish list for many of us, unsigned Jeff Taylor and his Hobbs Eagles have a rematch with top-ranked Clovis on the Eagles fabled home court. Should be a dandy, after Clovis handed the Eagles one of their few defeats a few days ago. (Game story here (http://www.currentargus.com/ci_8278270).) Look for some revenge to be extracted in Hobbs on Friday.

The game will, as always, be broadcast live in online radio on Hobbs HS TV/Radio link (http://www.hobbsschools.net/). (click on Eagle TV/Radio, then Live Radio. Click on HMS Sports to see some video of the Eagles-Clovis previous matchup.

No hype necessary for Jeff Taylor. He's a special '08 guy. Hope we get him, come spring signing period (beginning April 16?). MaxPreps stat comparison for the Clovis game (http://www.maxpreps.com/FanPages/Matchup.mxp/AreaID-22f34d9a-c790-4320-b10e-6a8742529bbb/Boys_Varsity_Basketball_Winter_07-08/NewMexico/Team1ID-d8b039ae-f037-4086-9e05-53bdfc998bb2/Team2ID-03a71863-0052-4f82-a991-bdcfc5de24f2) shows him with 27.9 ppg and 10.5 rpg. Even on the radio, he's an exciting player to follow.

MickMick
02-21-2008, 09:44 PM
Thank you for all the updates ZN. Jeff Taylor is high on my wish list as well.

wazZag
02-21-2008, 09:50 PM
Thanks alot ZN!

ZagsGoZags
02-21-2008, 09:59 PM
I wish Jeff Taylor could/would see the 9 pt piece on Rony Turiaff
Very few schools are going to be such family to players departed

ZagNative
02-21-2008, 10:09 PM
Does that story about Meech not give anyone else a case of the vapors?

http://www.msu.edu/user/jimknapp/graphics/Goats/faint.jpg

(I went searching for a graphic to describe my emotions about the prospect of this young man suiting up as a Zag come autumn, and, as usual, was distracted and amused in the process, this time learning about the phenomenon of fainting goats (http://www.msu.edu/user/jimknapp/goats.html), who apparently fold up when startled. I can identify, completely. Somebody get that Zag fan some smelling salts!)

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 12:02 AM
Except that goat is really weirdin' me out.

Anyways, re.Clovis/Hobbs: Don't forget the live video link one of our NM friends dropped on the board a couple weeks back -----> nmaa.tv (http://nmaa.tv/). Don't know how that worked for y'all last time. For me, the feed was decent most of the game, tho' it did cut out a couple times. And hopefully the camera angle is a little better at Hobbs.

Also, Linn-Mar has a sub-state semi tonite against Cedar Falls, according to the WCF Courier (http://www.wcfcourier.com/articles/2008/02/21/sports/local/10143265.txt). In prior posts, ZN has linked 1600espn (http://www.1600espn.com/) for audio coverage. Whether they carry the game, I don't know, and I haven't seen a time posted either. Just throwing it out there. Might be worth a check. (And if any of our Marion friends have updates on Grant's situation, please pass along!)

With all the high school action goin' on, & no Zags game 'til Monday, I'll admit to being more than a little curious as to the whereabouts of the staff.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 07:39 AM
BBSkorer, thanks so much for the added info and links! Here's more (bolding added for emphasis):

Jeff Taylor: There's a pregame story for the Clovis-Hobbs game in qcsunonline.com (http://www.qcsunonline.com/articles/clovis_559_enmvarsity__article.html/gilmore_game.html).

Clovis looks for 26-0 mark in rematch against rivals
By Kevin Wilson: Freedom New Mexico
February 22 2008 12:31 AM

With a 25-0 record and a 92-74 win over Hobbs under the Clovis Wildcats’ belt, Eagles coach Russ Gilmore doubts he’s going to see anything different from the Wildcats tonight.

“When you play as well as they did, I don’t know what kind of adjustments you can really make,” Gilmore said. “They’re going to continue to do what’s won them 25 games in a row, and who can blame them? They are without a doubt the No. 1 team in the state.”

Maybe so, but right now the Wildcats would settle for just being No. 1 in next week’s District 4-5A tournament. Clovis, 3-0 in district, can wrap up the top seed with either a win tonight at Hobbs (22-3, 2-1), or a loss by 17 or less.

Guess which one Clovis coach J.D. Isler wants.

“We’re going in there to win the game,” the seventh-year coach said. “We’d like to win the district championship outright and that’s the mentality of the kids.”

While Gilmore thinks road teams are sometimes better because there’s less pressure to perform, but he figures the Ralph Tasker Arena crowd will create a hostile environment for Clovis and will add one more chapter to the long-standing rivalry between the southern New Mexico schools.

“Our reserve seats are sold out 10 years down the line, so we’ve always got big crowds,” Gilmore said. “But the intensity level (when Clovis comes here), you can feel it in the air. It’s always greater because of the respect we have for them.”

The respect is mutual, so much that both Isler and Gilmore reason the opponent is too good to deviate from what they’ve done all year.

“I don’t see them doing a lot different. They may try to press us a little more at their place,” Isler said. “I think their game plan is pretty simple. They’re going to get (6-foot-7 senior post Jeff) Taylor the ball as much as possible.”
Wow. A high school with reserved seats for boys basketball sold out ten years in advance! And that's a 3,500 seat arena.

It's going to be interesting, to say the least, to see what Jeff can do at home against a team that beat the Eagles so badly their last matchup.

crescd215
02-22-2008, 09:31 AM
Being a resident of Hobbs this game is big for the entire city. Many of the people I work with waited until wednesday to try to get tickets and were unable to do so. The radio stations have started announcing that all tickets were sold out. And Re: the reserved tickets, my family moved here in '91 and had three reserved seat since then and that moved to 5 when my son was born 3 years ago. My parents even kept buying my seat while i was away at college for 4 years because they feared they may lose it. Big game for Jeff tonight. Hope he has a great one to begin the journey towards state championship #16.

BobZag
02-22-2008, 09:40 AM
Jeff is squarely atop my wish list. He's a true-blue bonafide go-to type of scorer. All the assists from Meech and Gibbs to Taylor, it could turn into a Stockton-to-Malone combo.

Then comes the long-range bomber in '09: Marshall Henderson.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 09:42 AM
It's really nice to have you aboard, crescd215. (crescd215, if you'll remember, was the bearer of gifts in his first post, when he provided us with the video link to watch the game.) It's just neat to hear from someone else who's up close and personal with the Hobbs program.

It's been fun for me to learn about Hobbs BB this year. Whether or not Jeff ultimately chooses to be a Zag, I'll sure be checking in to see what's up with the Eagles in the future.

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 09:51 AM
It's really nice to have you aboard, crescd215. (crescd215, if you'll remember, was the bearer of gifts in his first post, when he provided us with the video link to watch the game.) It's just neat to hear from someone else who's up close and personal with the Hobbs program.

It's been fun for me to learn about Hobbs BB this year. Whether or not Jeff ultimately chooses to be a Zag, I'll sure be checking in to see what's up with the Eagles in the future.Dittos, 215. Thanks much!

Also, re. Grant Gibbs......it's not exactly an official press release, but if true, is certainly good news: Iowa Preps 4A Forum (http://iowapreps.rivals.com/showmsg.asp?fid=1571&tid=111087436&mid=111087436&sid=978&style=2)

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 10:07 AM
Also, re. Grant Gibbs......it's not exactly an official press release, but if true, is certainly good news: Iowa Preps 4A Forum (http://iowapreps.rivals.com/showmsg.asp?fid=1571&tid=111087436&mid=111087436&sid=978&style=2)
WOW WOW WOW! Nice find, BBSkorer! I had checked the Gazette online just this morning and there was no news about grant, but now this:

Gibbs makes return just in time for 4A postseason
By Jeff Dahn
The Gazette

Linn-Mar played its final 10 games — half of its regular season — over a stretch of a little more than three weeks from Jan. 22 through Feb. 16 without all-stater Grant Gibbs , a Gonzaga-bound standout who has been sidelined with a broken wrist.

The Class 4A postseason begins tonight for Linn-Mar and the other 15 teams statewide that received top-two seeds and byes into the substate tournament semifinals. The Lions (16-4) open at home against Cedar Falls (13-9) and it appears likely they’ll be vying for their fifth straight trip to the state tournament with Gibbs back in the fold.

“The cast is off and he’s been cleared by his doctors,” Linn-Mar Coach Chris Robertson said Thursday. “He’s got a little brace on it and (tonight) might be a little bit of a stretch, but as soon as he feels he’s ready to go, he’ll be out there.” Linn-Mar and Cedar Falls play in one substate semifinal with Cedar Rapids Jefferson (15-7) at Waterloo East (14-7) on the other side of the bracket. Second-ranked Cedar Rapids Kennedy (19-2) hosts Dubuque Hempstead (6-16) in a semifinal opposite Clinton (8-13) and Dubuque Senior (9-11). Top-ranked Iowa City High (20-1) hosts Ottumwa (1011) and Iowa City West (14-7) hosts Oskaloosa (17-5) in another substate.

Seventh-ranked and defending state champion Linn-Mar went 7-3 without Gibbs , losing to top-ranked Iowa City High, No. 7 Bettendorf and Omaha Central, second-ranked in Nebraska when the teams met.

The return of Gibbs would boost a Linn-Mar team that has played well without him, even in its three defeats. Senior Alex Weldon and juniors Nate Hutcheson, Zach Bohannon and Drew Crawford have toughened their games and the Lions are ready for another long postseason run.

Linn-Mar beat Cedar Falls, 61-45, in the regular season meeting.

“I think they’re excited and we’re all excited to get going,” Robertson said. “One of the strengths of our guys is they’re experienced and they know what it takes. This team also knows there is no margin for error.” Jefferson will face an East team it beat 59-55 in its regular season finale last Friday. The J-Hawks have won five of six behind the inside play of Chad Underwood and Al Klees.

“East is very quick and they get on the boards,” Jefferson Coach Stu Ordman said. “They have two very talented players in Trice Scott and Jaron Nash, but you just have to go and play. I think as long as we stay focused and play our game, we’ll have a good shot.”

¦ Contact the writer: (319) 368-8841 or jeff.dahn@gazettecommunications.com

The return of Gibbs would boost a LinnMar team that has played well without him.
I tried to provide a link to the story, but the online Gazette's website is kind of weird and won't let me link directly to the story.

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 10:17 AM
I had checked the Gazette online just this morning and there was no news about grant, but now this:Okay, now that's more like it. Great find, ZN!

And best of luck to Grant & the Lions this post-season!

gamagin
02-22-2008, 10:23 AM
that goat is dead.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 10:29 AM
that goat is dead.
Gamagin, didn't I talk to you about that negative streak of yours? ;)

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 02:10 PM
Reminder and Summary:


Meech 4:35 PM Radio (http://www.tsrnsports.com/Broadcast/Broadcast-Schedule-2007.htm)
Grant 5:00 PM Radio (http://www.1600espn.com/)
Jeff 5:30 PM Radio (http://www.hobbsschools.net/)
Brock 7:00 PM Radio (http://www.myhank.com/index.asp)
Andy 7:30 PM Radio (http://www.kuik.com/Article.asp?id=549129)


Online TV for the Hobbs game may be found here: Link (http://nmaa.tv/)

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 04:31 PM
Meech's game just ready for tip-off, and once again Announcers Michael Silvers and Brent Moody acknowledge the fans listening in the PNW.

I hadn't done any research on tonight's opponent, Bryan, but they sure don't sound like cupcakes.

Go Tigers!

23dpg
02-22-2008, 05:04 PM
Reminder and Summary:


Meech 4:35 PM Radio (http://www.tsrnsports.com/Broadcast/Broadcast-Schedule-2007.htm)
Grant 5:00 PM Radio (http://www.1600espn.com/)
Jeff 5:30 PM Radio (http://www.hobbsschools.net/)
Brock 7:00 PM Radio (http://www.myhank.com/index.asp)
Andy 7:30 PM Radio (http://www.kuik.com/Article.asp?id=549129)


Online TV for the Hobbs game may be found here: Link (http://nmaa.tv/)


Amazing stuff ZN

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 05:15 PM
Thank goodness Al Gore invented the internet for us, huh?

At the half, Klein Collins carries a slim lead into the locker room, I believe, 24-23, and I'm showing Meech with just 4 points so far. Could be wrong, though; but I want to tune in Jeff's game for a while, so got to go.

One of the announcers pronounced the game one of the sloppiest he'd seen in a while, probably because of the fast pace. We'll see what Meech does in the second half.

BobZag
02-22-2008, 05:16 PM
That goat does look a bit stiff, ZN.

Great news about Gibbs.

Go get 'em, Meech.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 05:28 PM
That goat is simply overwhelmed with emotion.

Did I just hear the Hobbs announcers say that there are 17 college coaches at that game? :(

Who on that Clovis team might they be there to scout?

Go Jeff! Pay no attention to all those men in suits with clipboards!

Tomahawk Jam for Jeff!

Get 'em, guy!

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 05:39 PM
End of the first quarter, score 17-20, Clovis leading. Jeff has 11 points.

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 05:44 PM
Early 4th Q, KC is up 44-37. Meech struggling, but did hit a big 3 toward the end of the 3rd qtr. 7 pts. Just assisted on another 3.

And too bad the video ain't up for Jeff's game. I swear that site advertised Clovis/Hobbs earlier. Oh well.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 06:00 PM
I'm really glad you're keeping track of that KC Game, BBSkorer. Thanks.

At the half, Hobbs leads Clovis 40-39. (I had to mute the game for a while to chat on the phone with a HS chum whose Mom just died. Old friends come first, even before a Jeff Taylor barn burner.)

Stats from the first half are coming up in a few minutes.

Edited to add: Announcers just said Jeff had 15 in the first half.

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 06:04 PM
KC separates late and wins 57-49. Meech with 14, and hit 7 of 8 free throws in the last 2+ minutes. Also drew a big charge in the 4th. Dude just wins, even when he ain't at the top of his game.

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 06:27 PM
6 rbs, 3 ast, 1 stl, 1 blk. I believe the announcers also said that Goodson, on D, drew a pretty tough player (Lester?) who ended up with only 5 points. Also, in fairness to Meech, it sounded like Bryan was pretty athletic and ran doubles at him to get the ball out of his hands. I gather that's a pretty common strategy for KC opponents.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 06:28 PM
thanks, BBSkorer! Good to hear Meech will be playing again in the next round.

Anybody not listening to the Hobbs-Clovis game is missing a dandy. At the end of the third, Hobbs is leading 60-58.

Jeff with 23.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 07:17 PM
Hobbs beats previously undefeated Clovis, 88-83. Jeff scored 41 points and was the game's MVP as selected by the announcers.

He had a moment that reminded me so much of Ammo, where, toward the end of the game, he pounded his chest and gestured to the crowd to get up. The announcers commented that he's usually such a modest guy, it surprised them. He said in the post-game, he wanted to make a statement, that they "Had to protect the house."

Jeff is just 42 points away from being Hobbs all-time leading scorer."

"Big time players make big-time plays, and that's what Jeff Taylor did for us tonight." Coach Gilmore.

special kid.

BBskorer
02-22-2008, 07:26 PM
What a rockin' house that was! Late in the game, after the play-by-play guy finished a sentence, the color guy said something like 'it's so loud in here, I actually have no idea what you just said'.

Congrats to Hobbs & Jeff.

Man oh man oh man do I hope that guy becomes a Zag.

ZagNative
02-22-2008, 07:33 PM
Those Hobbs games are just fun to listen to! the announcers are terrific! They really convey the excitement. Hobbs will play Carlsbad Thursday.

crescd215
02-22-2008, 07:52 PM
Just a really neat atmosphere in Hobbs tonight. Jeff was amazing. Played his tail off. Only downside to tonight was that they had to refund about 200 general admission ticket holders their money because they wouldn't let anyone in without a reserved ticket after about 6:00 pm local time due to overcrowding. It is sad that Jeff only has a few games left in a Hobbs Eagle uniform. The fans of whatever college he goes to are going to be able to watch a special talent perform.

USMC69
02-22-2008, 08:23 PM
Listened to Meech's game and sounds like he got double teamed through out but still managed to play well. Also listened to Brock's game which they won going away, didn't catch his stats though (my bad). The announcer mentioned that there were "Gonzaga People" just to his left.

Fun listening to the different anouncers from Texas and Montana. I want the Philly Sub Sandwich they were advertising in Houston. Sure sounded good.

COGboy
02-22-2008, 08:49 PM
Just got back from watching the 7 footer and his team win a close game. They jumped way out in front early behind Andy's inside game and great defense.

Even though he had some nice buckets inside the paint, he did struggle to finish strong which allowed the other team to foul him and put pressure on him under the basket. He will need to work on his free throws. In fact, the whole Westview team did poorly at the line until the last minute of the game.

I was impressed with his defense and ability to kick the ball out to teammates. He had great rebounds and nice blocks. Great block inside the last minute or so of the game with his team up by 3 or 4.

Looking forward to seeing him in a Zags uniform next year. I wonder how many inches he'll grow between now and then?

ZagNative
02-23-2008, 07:36 AM
Post-game story for Jeff Taylor (http://www.pntonline.com/articles/lead_565_enmvarsity__article.html/hobbs_wildcats.html): The radio announcers misspoke in reporting Jeff's points, if this story is correct. It says he had 37.

Hobbs hosts Carlsbad on Thursday night in the 4-5A tournament. The winner will play Saturday at Clovis.

Andy Poling - Video of Westview-Aloha Game (http://blog.oregonlive.com/highschool/2008/02/video_battle_of_the_bigmen_at.html):. Andy is #54. Andy scored 17, as Westview (12-11, 6-3 in league) moved into second place in Metro League standings (http://highschoolsports.oregonlive.com/school/portland-westview/boysbasketball/standings/boysbasketball/) behind Sunset (20-4, 7-2). Final stats: Westview - Poling 17 points, 14 rebounds, 2 assists.

ZagAddict
02-23-2008, 08:55 AM
All GREAT players are able to elevate their level of play for BIG games, and have the ability to get stronger as a game goes on. This is what I ABSOLUTELY love about Demetri Goodson and Jeff Taylor.

Demetri Goodson knows how to W-I-N... whether it's scoring points, dishing out assists to teammates, or playing lock down defense. As a PG, Demetri has the maturity to know what is needed from him in a ballgame... he knows it doesn't need to be him everynight scoring 20+ points. This is what separates good PGs from excellent PGs (knowing how to run the TEAM). KC's success this season is proof of what a PG like Goodson can do for a team.

Jeff Taylor has the incredible ability to bring his "A" game everynight. What really catches my eye in the Hobbs' game reports is how he has the ability to take over a game in the 4th quarter... he gets stronger as the game goes on. Against Clovis, Taylor had 18 of his 37 points in the 4th quarter. Taylor is truly a special player and someone who excels in the GO-TO role... he doesn't shy away when the game is on the line.

I would love to see both of these guys together on the court in a GU uniform. I think each of their games are perfect for eachother. Taylor would fit PERFECTLY in GU's offense with Meech at the PG position. I hope Taylor recognizes the fact that he would be joined at GU with Meech in the same recruting class.:D

Good luck to Meech and Goodson with continued success in their final games as seniors. It's fun to keep tabs on exciting players like them...

BobZag
02-23-2008, 09:01 AM
I have to think Gonzaga had a coach in Hobbs. 37 points. Ho-hum, just another game for Jeffrey.

ZagNative
02-23-2008, 09:03 AM
Sigh... Yup, Mr. Taylor is special ...

Grant Gibbs - Linn-Mar Game Story: (http://www.gazetteonline.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080222/SPORTS/956241213) (Bolding added for emphasis.)


February 22. 2008 10:45PM
Lions back in familiar spot after victory
By Jeff Dahn
The Gazette

MARION — Linn-Mar players and fans welcomed the return to action of team leader Grant Gibbs last night, then welcomed themselves back to yet another appearance in a substate tournament championship game.

The Class 4A sixth-ranked and defending state champion Lions staked themselves to an 11-point halftime lead then opened the door to the substate final with a 10-2 run to open the third quarter, and beat Mississippi Valley Conference rival Cedar Falls, 65-52, in a substate semifinal at Linn-Mar.

Linn-Mar (17-4) will face Metro and MVC rival Cedar Rapids Jefferson (16-7) in the second half of a 3A-4A substate final double-header at 8 p.m. Tuesday in the McLeod Center at Cedar Falls. It is Linn-Mar's fifth straight appearance in a substate final; the first four resulted in state tournament berths.

....

One of the biggest cheers of the night came with 1:59 left in the first half when Gibbs, who hadn't played since breaking his right wrist Jan. 22, entered the game. The all-stater played the rest of the half, obviously favoring his right arm, which was adorned in a light cast, then came back in for a couple of more minutes in the fourth period and scored a left-handed layup.

"Everybody had a big smile on their face, especially with the big applause and everything, and the fans loved it," Linn-Mar senior Alex Weldon said. "It was great for the team to see Gibbs out there because he's such a great leader. Even with him on the bench — his spirit — everything about it is awesome."

The Lions' attack was extremely balanced, with Bohannon scoring his team-high 15 points all in the second half, Weldon and Nate Hutcheson chipping in with 12 apiece and Benton adding 10. The Lions' biggest lead of the night was 22 at 53-31 when Gibbs dropped in his layup.

Edited to add: Box Score for the game.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/7480/20080223grantgibbslinnmhk2.jpg

23dpg
02-23-2008, 09:28 AM
Look again.

1-1, 0-0 2 points.

gamagin
02-23-2008, 09:29 AM
but that goat still hasnt moved.

ZagNative
02-23-2008, 09:31 AM
Whatever are you talking about, 23? ;)

ZagNative
02-23-2008, 09:35 AM
but that goat still hasnt moved.
Goat, in Zags cheerleader gear, says, "I'm not dead yet ...."

http://media.npr.org/programs/atc/features/2007/nov/sec/goat227.jpg

sittingon50
02-23-2008, 12:40 PM
"I'm feeling better..."

ZagNative
02-23-2008, 12:42 PM
"I'm feeling better..."

Sittingon50, ZN's Monty Python partner in crime ....;)

sittingon50
02-23-2008, 01:22 PM
There are a # of Python fans in these parts, ZN. We could get quite a conversation going on African/European Swallows.:D

ZagNative
02-23-2008, 02:23 PM
Just One More Jeff Taylor Tidbit? Story today from the Hobbs Sun (http://www.hobbsnews.com/?p=155):


Taylor’s intense effort carries Hobbs to win

admin
HOBBS NEWS-SUN

Jeff Taylor wasn’t ready to toe the free-throw line just yet. First, he wanted to deliver a message to Eagle fans in a packed Tasker Arena.

A passionate Taylor, who was fouled while scoring a go-ahead bucket in the fourth-quarter against Clovis, shouted, “Let’s go!” and signaled for Hobbs fans to stand up. The crowd responded with deafening approval, Taylor buried the ensuing free throw to put the Eagles up by three, and the Hobbs boys basketball team rode a wave of emotion to an 88-83 victory over the Wildcats on Friday.

Taylor scored a team-high 37 points and grabbed 17 rebounds, but it was his intensity which likely pushed Hobbs over the top. The 6-foot-7 senior put the Eagles on his back, scoring 18 fourth-quarter points and taking over ball-handling duties after point guard Derrek Peterson fouled out.

When Josh Sanders scored to give Hobbs a five-point lead with less than 20 seconds remaining, Taylor collapsed near halfcourt, releasing a thunderous scream. When the clock hit zero, Taylor grabbed a Swedish flag from a fan in the Hobbs student section and proudly held the symbol of his home country toward Clovis fans, who had been mocking him with chants of, “U-S-A!”

With a bright college future in front of him, Taylor left no doubt that his focus is still directly on winning a state championship for Hobbs. Friday’s task was paying Clovis back for defeating the Eagles two weeks ago and handing the Wildcats their first loss of the season.

“I’ve been reading the paper and I’ve been taking a lot of that personally,” Taylor said of comments hinting Clovis is better than Hobbs. “We just wanted to got out and show that (Clovis isn’t) the better team.”

While the victory placed Hobbs (23-3 overall, 3-1 District 4-5A) in a tie with Clovis (25-1, 3-1) atop the district standings, the Wildcats earned the No. 1 seed in the district tournament and an automatic state playoff berth through a point-differential tiebreaker – Clovis finished plus-13 after beating Hobbs by 18 Feb. 8 and losing by five Friday.

No. 2 Hobbs will host No. 3 Carlsbad on Thursday with the winner earning an automatic playoff berth and taking on Clovis in Rock Staubus Gymnasium on Saturday.

gamagin
02-23-2008, 03:01 PM
<< "I'm feeling better...">>

I, too, am happy you didn't let anyone get your goat.

htownzagfan
02-24-2008, 07:30 AM
Fellas,

Friday vs Bryan was a straight out WAR...what you have to understand about Bryan is they were top ten in the state till they got upset last game of the year before playoffs...they have 4 ultra quick guards...the kid Meech gaurded most of the night was Lister...in the last 8 games this kid had 56 3's (that is not a misprint) this little guy can staright out SHOOT THE ROCK...BUT NOT AGAINST MEECH GOODSON!!! Meech blocked this kid a couple of times and limited Bryan's main weapon to 5 points...as for Meech on the offensive end - Bryan trapped Meech all over the court in an effort to get the ball outta his hands. With their quickness they were somewhat successful early but they really got tired in the 3rd and 4th and things started to loosen up as Meech was able to run the floor and draw fouls...not his best game of the year but he did hit 2 huge 3's and go 7 of 8 from the ft line when the tigers needed them the most ---Bottom line - Meech and the Tigers made the plays to win when it counted - they move on to the next round...play Tuesday at 7 vs The Woodlands College Park - will keep you updated

sittingon50
02-24-2008, 09:49 AM
Thanks for the insight, htown.

ZagNative
02-24-2008, 12:34 PM
htownzagfan on Meech: I love your game stories, htownzagfan! They just really give a neat flavor of the game. I'll polst a reminder game day, as usual, with any links I find to listen online and any pregame stories.

Game Story for Brock: Here's a game story for Brock from the Daily Interlake (http://www.dailyinterlake.com/articles/2008/02/24/sports/sports03.txt) for the Hellgate game Saturday, with information about where Flathead goes into the playoffs:

Braves thump Knights
Posted: Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 - 12:41:46 am MST
By DAVID LESNICK/The Daily Inter Lake

Finish Western AA play 7-5, 15-5 overall
Flathead took care of business on the final weekend of the Class AA boys°¯ basketball regular season Saturday afternoon with a 62-34 thumping of Missoula Hellgate.
...

hiesen then set the offensive tone for the final quarter, nailing a trey.

Josh Harris picked up a loose ball under the basket and went right back up for an easy two points.

And on Flathead°¯s third possession of the fourth quarter, a dandy bounce pass to Harris inside from Brock Osweiler resulted in another easy basket.

Flathead was in charge, and finally rolling at 43-29.

The victory gave Flathead a 9-1 mark at home on senior day.
...
Febach liked the fact the Braves were finding °°the open player and sharing the ball. All total, 10 FHS players scored, led by Salois and Osweiler with 12 apiece. Thiesen was next with 10.

....

The Braves controlled the boards 39-26. Osweiler had 19.

Salois led in assists with six with Thiesen and Oweiler next with five each.

Flathead will finish as either the No. 3 or 4 seed in the division. That will give the Braves a home playoff game next week.

ZagNative
02-24-2008, 03:01 PM
Any results from games on Saturday night?
Brock's game was a Saturday game.

To the best of my knowledge, following is an approximate schedule for the guys' next games:

Meech Tue, Feb 26 5:00 PM College Park - 3rd round Bi-District Playoffs
Grant Tue, Feb 26 6:00 PM Cedar Rapids Jefferson - 3A-4A substate final
Jeff Thu, Feb 28 6:00 PM Carlsbad last regular season game
Brock Thu-Fri TBA Playoff game at home
Andy Thu, Feb 28 7:30 PM Jesuit last regular season game